For a ready-to-drink option clearly labeled lactose-free, Fairlife Nutrition Protein Shake is my best overall pick in this lineup, pairing 30g of protein with low sugar. Core Power Elite stands out for shoppers who want 42g of protein per bottle, while Premier Protein’s almondmilk shakes suit buyers who prefer a non-dairy base over milk protein. The main tradeoffs are protein source, serving size, sweetness, and whether a product’s lactose-free claim is explicit or inferred from its ingredients. Milk-protein shakes can still be unsuitable for people avoiding dairy or with a milk allergy. Read on for the full comparison and guidance on choosing a shake that fits your needs.
Get your next haul delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- Fairlife is the clearest all-around lactose-free choice: its listed lactose-free claim, 30g protein, and low-sugar positioning make the decision easier for buyers who want dairy-based protein without lactose.
- Protein quantity varies sharply: Core Power Elite leads this group at 42g per bottle, but that higher serving may be more than a casual snack needs.
- Non-dairy and lactose-free are different: Premier’s almondmilk shakes avoid dairy ingredients, while many other picks use milk protein; choose by allergy and dietary needs, not the lactose-free label alone.
- Several products share a 30g target but differ in source: Premier, Orgain, Pure Protein, Nurri, Fairlife, and Oikos are not interchangeable for shoppers comparing dairy, plant-based, or beef-derived protein.
- Flavor variants do not change the main buying decision: Premier’s chocolate and vanilla options and Oikos’s chocolate and vanilla options mainly help with taste preference; compare their base, label, and nutrition details before choosing.
| lactosefree protein shake | Flavor | Sugar | Protein | Bottle size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Premier Protein Shake | Vanilla | — | 30g per shake | — |
| Core Power Elite High Protein | Chocolate | — | 42g per bottle | 14 oz |
| Orgain 30g High Protein Shake | Chocolate Fudge | 1g per serving | 30g per serving | — |
| Premier Protein Shake | Chocolate | 1g | 30g | — |
| Nurri 30g Protein Ultra Filter | Vanilla | 1g per can | 30g per can | — |
| Premier Protein Shake | Chocolate | 1g | 30g | 11 fl oz |
| Pure Protein Vanilla Protein S | Vanilla | Less than 1g | 30g per serving | — |
| Premier Protein Non-Dairy Almo | Chocolate | 5g per shake | 20g per shake | — |
| Core Power Protein Shake | Vanilla | 5g | 26g | 14 fl oz |
| Fairlife Nutrition Protein Sha | — | Low; exact amount not specified | — | 11.5 fl oz |
| Oikos Chocolate Protein Shake | Chocolate | 1g per serving | — | 12 fl oz |
| Oikos Vanilla Protein Shake | Vanilla | 1g per serving | — | 12 fl oz |
| MuscleMeds Carnivor Ready-to-D | Vanilla Cupcake | 0g | — | 16.9 fl oz |
| Premier Protein Non-Dairy Almo | Vanilla | 5g | — | 11.5 fl oz |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Premier Protein Shake, Vanilla, 30g Protein, No Added Sugar, 11.5 fl oz (12 Pack)
Premier Protein Vanilla offers 30g of protein in a ready-to-drink bottle, with no added sugar and 24 vitamins and minerals. That makes it a convenient pick for people who want a substantial protein serving without mixing powder. Compared with Nurri Vanilla, it provides the same listed protein amount and a larger 11.5 fl oz serving, but its product information does not identify it as lactose-free. That distinction matters for this roundup: no added sugar does not make a shake suitable for lactose intolerance. I’d choose it for vanilla flavor and grab-and-go convenience only if dairy is already comfortable for you. The main tradeoff is that its lactose status is unspecified, so buyers seeking a clearly lactose-free shake should choose a confirmed option such as Nurri or Core Power Elite instead.
Pros:- Provides 30g of protein per shake
- No added sugar
- Ready-to-drink 11.5 fl oz bottles suit on-the-go use
- Includes 24 vitamins and minerals
Cons:- Lactose-free status is not specified in the supplied product details
- Dairy-based ingredients may not suit people with dairy sensitivities
- The vanilla-only pack offers no flavor variety
Best for: Vanilla-shake buyers who want 30g of protein, no added sugar, and portability, and who do not need a confirmed lactose-free product.
Not ideal for: People with lactose intolerance or anyone who needs an explicitly lactose-free label; the supplied product details do not confirm lactose-free status.
- Flavor:Vanilla
- Protein:30g per shake
- Serving size:11.5 fl oz
- Pack count:12
- Added sugar:No added sugar
- Vitamins and minerals:24
- Gluten-free:Yes
Our verdict“Choose this for a portable, no-added-sugar vanilla shake if dairy suits you, but pick a product explicitly labeled lactose-free if that is a requirement.”
Core Power Elite High Protein Shake, Chocolate, 42g Bottle, 14oz, 12 Pack
Core Power Elite Chocolate is the high-protein choice here: each 14 oz bottle supplies 42g, and the product is explicitly described as lactose-free. Its ultra-filtered milk protein includes all nine essential amino acids, making it a more recovery-focused option than Premier Protein Chocolate, which supplies 30g per serving. The larger bottle and higher protein amount suit people who want a substantial post-workout shake, while shelf stability makes it easier to keep on hand before opening. The tradeoff is that this is not the lightest option: the supplied details note added sugars, and the opened bottle needs refrigeration. I’d favor it over the lower-protein alternatives for a larger recovery serving, but not for buyers prioritizing minimal sugar or a smaller drink.
Pros:- Explicitly labeled lactose-free
- 42g of protein per bottle, more than the 30g options in this lineup
- Complete protein with all nine essential amino acids
- Shelf-stable before opening
Cons:- Contains added sugars, according to the supplied product details
- Must be refrigerated after opening
- The 14 oz serving is larger than the 11 oz shakes in the lineup
Best for: Athletes and strength-training adults who want a clearly lactose-free, ready-to-drink shake with at least 40g of protein after exercise.
Not ideal for: Buyers limiting added sugar, preferring a smaller serving, or wanting a plant-based shake rather than ultra-filtered milk protein.
- Flavor:Chocolate
- Protein:42g per bottle
- Bottle size:14 oz
- Pack size:12 bottles
- Lactose-free:Yes
- Shelf stable:Yes, before opening
- Protein source:Ultra-filtered milk
Our verdict“Pick Core Power Elite if you want a confirmed lactose-free shake with a particularly high protein serving for post-workout recovery.”
Orgain 30g High Protein Shake, Dairy Isolate Milk Protein, Chocolate Fudge, 11 Fl Oz (Pack of 12)
Orgain Chocolate Fudge combines 30g of dairy protein with 1g of sugar and 6g of BCAAs per 11 fl oz serving. Its low listed sugar makes it a stronger match than Core Power Elite Chocolate for buyers watching sugar intake, though Core Power Elite has more protein and is explicitly labeled lactose-free. Orgain is made with dairy isolate milk protein, but the supplied details do not say it is lactose-free; I would not treat that ingredient description as a substitute for a clear lactose-free claim. Gluten-free, keto-friendly positioning and the absence of artificial flavors add useful dietary details, but this remains a dairy-based shake. The 160 calories may also be more than some buyers want from a drink. It suits chocolate-shake shoppers focused on low sugar, provided lactose-free status is not a must-have.
Pros:- Provides 30g of protein and 6g of BCAAs per serving
- Contains 1g of sugar per serving
- Gluten-free and described as keto-friendly
- Made without artificial flavors
Cons:- Lactose-free status is not stated in the supplied details
- Uses dairy-based milk protein and is not suitable for vegans
- Contains 160 calories per serving
Best for: Chocolate-shake buyers seeking 30g of protein and 1g of sugar who follow gluten-free or keto-friendly eating patterns and do not require a confirmed lactose-free label.
Not ideal for: People with lactose intolerance who need explicit lactose-free labeling, vegans, or buyers seeking a lower-calorie drink.
- Flavor:Chocolate Fudge
- Protein:30g per serving
- BCAAs:6g per serving
- Sugar:1g per serving
- Calories:160 per serving
- Serving size:11 fl oz
- Pack size:12
- Gluten-free:Yes
Our verdict“Choose Orgain for a low-sugar chocolate shake with 30g of protein, but select Core Power Elite instead if confirmed lactose-free status is essential.”
Premier Protein Shake, Chocolate, 30g Protein, No Added Sugar, 11.5 fl oz (12 Pack)
Premier Protein Chocolate gives buyers a 30g protein serving, 1g of sugar, and 24 vitamins and minerals in an 11.5 fl oz bottle. It is a useful chocolate alternative to Orgain Chocolate Fudge: both list 30g of protein and 160 calories, while Premier says no added sugar and Orgain lists 1g of sugar. However, neither supplied description confirms that Premier is lactose-free, so I would not rank it ahead of a clearly labeled option like Core Power Elite for lactose-intolerant shoppers. Its portability and low listed carbohydrates suit people who want a convenient chocolate shake, but it is milk-based and may taste too sweet to some. This is a better fit for avoiding added sugar than for choosing a verified lactose-free drink.
Pros:- Provides 30g of protein per serving
- No added sugar and 1g of sugar listed
- Contains 24 vitamins and minerals
- Portable 11.5 fl oz ready-to-drink format
Cons:- Lactose-free status is not specified in the supplied product details
- Contains milk-based ingredients and is not suitable for vegans
- Chocolate flavor may be too sweet for some preferences
Best for: Chocolate-shake drinkers who want 30g of protein, no added sugar, and a portable serving, without needing explicit lactose-free labeling.
Not ideal for: People with lactose intolerance who require a confirmed lactose-free product, vegans, or those who dislike sweet chocolate drinks.
- Flavor:Chocolate
- Protein:30g
- Serving size:11.5 fl oz
- Pack count:12
- Sugar:1g
- Calories:160
- Carbohydrates:3–5g
- Vitamins and minerals:24
Our verdict“Pick this for a convenient, no-added-sugar chocolate shake if dairy suits you; choose Core Power Elite for an explicitly lactose-free alternative.”
Nurri 30g Protein Ultra Filtered Milk Shake, Vanilla, 10-11 fl oz Cans
Nurri Vanilla is the clearest fit for a lactose-free vanilla shake in this group: it is explicitly labeled lactose-free and delivers 30g of protein, 1g of sugar, and 150 calories per can. Compared with Premier Protein Vanilla, Nurri gives buyers a stated lactose-free claim and fewer listed calories, while Premier offers a larger 11.5 fl oz serving and 24 vitamins and minerals. Nurri instead lists 10 essential vitamins and minerals and comes in recyclable cans. Its ultra-filtered real-milk protein may appeal to people who want dairy protein without lactose, but it is not plant-based. The supplied description mentions only vanilla, so flavor variety is limited, and the 10–11 fl oz volume is smaller than Premier’s bottle. For buyers who need explicit lactose-free labeling, those tradeoffs are easier to accept.
Pros:- Explicitly labeled lactose-free
- Provides 30g of protein with 1g of sugar per can
- Contains 150 calories per can
- Recyclable aluminum cans and 10 essential vitamins and minerals
Cons:- Made with real milk, so it is not suitable for people avoiding dairy entirely
- Only vanilla is specified, limiting flavor choice
- The 10–11 fl oz can is smaller than the Premier Protein Vanilla bottle
Best for: Lactose-intolerant vanilla-shake buyers who want 30g of real-milk protein, low sugar, and a recyclable can.
Not ideal for: People avoiding all dairy, shoppers wanting multiple flavors, or buyers who prefer the larger 11.5 fl oz Premier Protein bottle.
- Flavor:Vanilla
- Protein:30g per can
- Volume:10–11 fl oz per can
- Quantity:10 cans
- Calories:150 per can
- Sugar:1g per can
- Lactose-free:Yes
- Vitamins and minerals:10 essential vitamins and minerals
- Packaging:Recyclable cans
Our verdict“Choose Nurri for a clearly lactose-free vanilla shake with 30g of protein and low sugar, as long as dairy protein itself is acceptable.”
Premier Protein Shake, Chocolate, 30g Protein, No Added Sugar, 11 fl oz, 12 Pack
For shoppers who want lactose-free protein, this is not the right fit: its protein is milk-based, and the listing does not identify it as lactose-free. Its appeal is instead 30g of protein with 1g of sugar, a stronger protein-and-sugar balance than Premier Protein’s Non-Dairy Almondmilk Chocolate Shake, which has 20g of protein and 5g of sugar. The tradeoff is that this chocolate option contains dairy, so it does not suit dairy allergies and may not work for people avoiding lactose. Its 160 calories and added vitamins and minerals make it a convenient, nutrient-fortified choice for buyers who tolerate milk. I’d rank it as a general low-sugar option, not a lactose-free recommendation.
Pros:- Provides 30g of protein per bottle.
- Contains 1g of sugar.
- Includes 24 vitamins and minerals.
- Ready-to-drink 11 fl oz bottles suit snacks or post-workout use.
Cons:- Contains milk-based ingredients and is not listed as lactose-free.
- This pack offers only chocolate flavor.
- At 160 calories, it may not suit buyers seeking a lower-calorie drink.
Best for: Chocolate-shake buyers who tolerate dairy and want 30g of protein with very little sugar.
Not ideal for: People seeking lactose-free drinks or avoiding dairy, since the shake contains milk-based ingredients and is not identified as lactose-free.
- Flavor:Chocolate
- Protein:30g
- Sugar:1g
- Calories:160
- Bottle size:11 fl oz
- Pack size:12
- Dietary features:Gluten-free, keto, bariatric friendly, kosher
Our verdict“Choose this chocolate shake for 30g of protein and 1g of sugar only if you tolerate dairy; skip it if lactose-free is a requirement.”
Pure Protein Vanilla Protein Shake, 30g Complete Protein, Vitamins A, C, D, E, Zinc, 11oz Bottles, 12 Pack
Pure Protein’s main draw is a familiar vanilla profile paired with 30g of complete milk protein, but it is not presented as lactose-free, so I wouldn’t recommend it to shoppers who need that assurance. Compared with the lactose-free Fairlife Nutrition Protein Shake, Pure Protein lists fewer specifics about lactose suitability, while offering less than 1g of sugar and 140 calories. That makes it a sensible pick for dairy-tolerant buyers who prioritize a low-sugar shake and want vitamins and minerals in a portable bottle. The tradeoff is a narrow flavor choice and a milk-protein base that rules it out for dairy allergies. For a lactose-free roundup, its place is a useful comparison—not a match for the core need.
Pros:- Supplies 30g of complete protein per bottle.
- Contains less than 1g of sugar.
- At 140 calories, it is lower in calories than the listed Premier Protein Chocolate shake.
- Includes vitamins and minerals in ready-to-drink bottles.
Cons:- Uses milk protein isolate and is not listed as lactose-free.
- Vanilla is the only flavor specified for this pack.
- Not suitable for people with dairy allergies.
Best for: Dairy-tolerant shoppers who prefer vanilla, want 30g of protein, and keep sugar low.
Not ideal for: People who require a clearly identified lactose-free shake or who avoid milk protein.
- Flavor:Vanilla
- Protein:30g per serving
- Calories:140 per bottle
- Sugar:Less than 1g
- Serving size:11 oz
- Pack size:12 bottles
- Protein source:Milk protein isolate
- Dietary features:Gluten-free, keto-friendly
Our verdict“Pick Pure Protein for low-sugar vanilla nutrition if you tolerate milk, but choose a shake explicitly labeled lactose-free if that is your priority.”
Premier Protein Non-Dairy Almondmilk Protein Shake, Chocolate, 20g Protein, 12 Pack
This is the lineup’s clearest fit for buyers avoiding dairy: it uses an almondmilk base rather than milk protein, making it a plant-based alternative to Core Power Vanilla, which is explicitly lactose-free but still made from milk. The distinction matters if you also want to avoid dairy ingredients, though the almond base makes this a poor choice for anyone with an almond allergy. At 20g of protein, it provides less than the 26g in Core Power and the 30g in Fairlife Nutrition, so it suits everyday snacks better than buyers chasing the highest protein count. It also has 5g of sugar and 5g of fat, and the listing does not explicitly label the product lactose-free; its non-dairy formula is the key suitability signal.
Pros:- Uses an almondmilk base instead of dairy protein.
- Provides 20g of protein per shake.
- Contains no artificial flavors, colors, or sweeteners, according to the product data.
- Offers a non-dairy alternative to milk-based lactose-free shakes such as Core Power.
Cons:- Contains almonds, making it unsuitable for people with almond allergies.
- Has less protein than the listed Core Power and Fairlife shakes.
- Contains 5g of sugar and 5g of fat per shake.
Best for: Plant-based shoppers who avoid milk ingredients and want a ready-to-drink chocolate shake with 20g of protein.
Not ideal for: People with almond allergies or buyers who want at least 26–30g of protein per bottle.
- Flavor:Chocolate
- Protein:20g per shake
- Serving size:11.5 fl oz
- Pack size:12
- Sugar:5g per shake
- Calories:Up to 160 per shake
- Fat:5g per shake
- Base:Almondmilk
Our verdict“Choose this for a non-dairy chocolate shake if almonds are safe for you and 20g of protein is enough.”
Core Power Protein Shake, Vanilla, 26g, 14oz
Core Power is the most directly targeted option here for shoppers who want a lactose-free, milk-based recovery shake: the product data explicitly labels it lactose-free and supplies 26g of protein. That makes it a better match for this roundup than Premier Protein Chocolate or Pure Protein Vanilla, neither of which is identified as lactose-free. It also provides calcium and vitamin D3, while its 14 oz bottle gives more volume than Fairlife Nutrition’s 11.5 oz bottle. The tradeoff is a middle-of-the-pack protein amount—below Fairlife’s 30g—and 5g of sugar, which is more than the less-than-1g listed for Pure Protein. Because it still contains milk protein, it is not a dairy-free choice for people with milk allergies.
Pros:- Explicitly identified as lactose-free.
- Provides 26g of protein from ultra-filtered milk.
- Includes calcium and vitamin D3.
- A 14 oz bottle offers more volume than the listed Fairlife shake.
Cons:- Contains milk, so it is not suitable for dairy allergies or dairy-free diets.
- Has 5g of sugar per bottle.
- Provides less protein than Fairlife’s 30g shake.
Best for: Lactose-intolerant exercisers who want a clearly labeled lactose-free milk-protein shake in a larger bottle.
Not ideal for: People avoiding all dairy, those limiting sugar closely, or buyers seeking the highest protein per bottle.
- Flavor:Vanilla
- Bottle size:14 fl oz
- Protein:26g
- Calories:170
- Sugar:5g
- Carbohydrates:6g
- Lactose-free:Yes
- Gluten-free:Yes
Our verdict“Choose Core Power for an explicitly lactose-free, milk-based recovery shake with 26g of protein, but not if you need dairy-free ingredients or lower sugar.”
Fairlife Nutrition Protein Shakes – Pack of 12, 30g Protein, Low Sugar, Lactose-Free, Vanilla Flavor, 11.5 fl. oz.
For shoppers whose main requirement is lactose-free protein with a substantial serving, Fairlife is my lead pick: it is explicitly labeled lactose-free and provides 30g of protein per bottle. That gives it a protein advantage over Core Power Vanilla’s 26g, while also making it a more direct lactose-free recommendation than Premier Protein Chocolate and Pure Protein Vanilla, whose supplied details do not identify them as lactose-free. Its listed low-sugar profile suits buyers who want to limit sugar, though the exact amount is not specified here. The main compromise is that this pack comes in vanilla only, despite other flavors being available separately, and the product data notes added flavors and sweeteners. It contains dairy, so lactose-free does not mean suitable for milk allergies.
Pros:- Explicitly labeled lactose-free.
- Provides 30g of protein per bottle, more than the listed Core Power Vanilla shake.
- Described as low in sugar.
- Other flavors are available beyond the vanilla in this pack.
Cons:- This 12-pack contains vanilla only.
- Contains dairy, so it is not suitable for milk allergies or dairy-free diets.
- The supplied product data does not state an exact sugar amount.
Best for: Lactose-intolerant adults seeking 30g of protein in a low-sugar, ready-to-drink shake.
Not ideal for: People with dairy allergies, shoppers who want a non-dairy formula, or buyers who want a specific flavor beyond vanilla in this pack.
- Flavor in this pack:Vanilla
- Other listed flavors:Caramel, chocolate, strawberry
- Protein per bottle:30g
- Lactose-free:Yes
- Sugar:Low; exact amount not specified
- Bottle size:11.5 fl oz
- Pack size:12
Our verdict“Choose Fairlife for an explicitly lactose-free shake with 30g of protein, unless you need dairy-free ingredients or a flavor other than vanilla.”
Oikos Chocolate Protein Shake, 30g High Protein, 12 fl oz Bottles, 12 Count
For shoppers seeking a lactose-free option, this listing does not establish that the shake is lactose-free, so I would verify the package before buying for lactose intolerance. Its clearer advantage is the combination of 30g of complete protein and 5g of prebiotic fiber in a shelf-stable chocolate bottle. That gives it a different pitch from MuscleMeds Carnivor, which explicitly lists lactose-free and dairy-free credentials and delivers 40g of beef protein, but may not suit buyers who want a dairy-free plant or animal protein alternative. The Oikos listing also specifies vitamins A and D and no artificial sweeteners. The tradeoff is a narrow flavor choice and 1g of sugar per serving; buyers who need a confirmed lactose-free shake should prioritize products with that claim rather than infer it from the low sugar or protein details.
Pros:- Provides 30g of complete protein per 12 fl oz bottle.
- Includes 5g of prebiotic fiber per serving.
- Shelf-stable format suits pantry storage and travel.
- No artificial sweeteners are listed.
Cons:- The supplied product details do not confirm that it is lactose-free.
- Only chocolate is specified for this pack.
- Contains 1g of sugar per serving.
Best for: Chocolate-shake shoppers who want 30g of protein, prebiotic fiber, and shelf-stable bottles, and who can confirm the product fits their lactose requirements.
Not ideal for: People with lactose intolerance who need a clearly labeled lactose-free product, or buyers who want a flavor beyond chocolate.
- Flavor:Chocolate
- Protein per serving:30g
- Bottle size:12 fl oz
- Pack count:12 bottles
- Prebiotic fiber:5g
- Sugar:1g per serving
- Artificial sweeteners:None
- Storage:Shelf-stable
Our verdict“Choose this for a shelf-stable chocolate shake with 30g of protein and prebiotic fiber, but confirm lactose status before relying on it for lactose intolerance.”
Oikos Vanilla Protein Shake, 30g High Protein, 12 fl oz Bottles, 12 Count
I’d put the Oikos Vanilla on the shortlist for buyers who prefer a milder flavor and want 30g of protein plus 5g of prebiotic fiber in a ready-to-drink bottle. Like the chocolate Oikos, it is shelf-stable and lists just 1g of sugar; vanilla is the more flexible choice for people who find chocolate shakes too rich. Compared with MuscleMeds Carnivor, though, this product’s supplied details do not confirm lactose-free status, while MuscleMeds explicitly lists lactose-free and dairy-free attributes. The Oikos also lists vitamins A and D and no artificial sweeteners, but its prebiotic fiber may not work for every digestive routine. I’d choose it for flavor preference and fiber, not as a substitute for a verified lactose-free label.
Pros:- Offers 30g of complete protein per bottle.
- Contains 5g of prebiotic fiber per serving.
- Shelf-stable and ready to drink.
- Lists 1g of sugar and no artificial sweeteners.
Cons:- The provided product information does not confirm lactose-free status.
- Prebiotic fiber may not suit every buyer.
- This pack is specified only in vanilla.
Best for: Vanilla fans who want a shelf-stable 30g protein shake with prebiotic fiber and can verify its suitability for their lactose needs.
Not ideal for: People who need confirmed lactose-free labeling or who avoid prebiotic fiber because it does not suit their digestion.
- Flavor:Vanilla
- Protein per serving:30g
- Bottle size:12 fl oz
- Pack count:12 bottles
- Prebiotic fiber:5g
- Sugar:1g per serving
- Storage:Shelf-stable
- Vitamins:Vitamins A and D
Our verdict“Pick this vanilla Oikos for protein, fiber, and convenience, but choose a product with an explicit lactose-free claim if that is a requirement.”
MuscleMeds Carnivor Ready-to-Drink Beef Protein Isolate, Vanilla Cupcake, 16.9 fl oz, Pack of 12
This is the most direct fit here for shoppers who need a clearly identified lactose-free, dairy-free shake: the listing also excludes gluten, eggs, tree nuts, and soy. Each 16.9 fl oz bottle supplies 40g of hydrolyzed beef protein isolate, more protein than either Oikos shake, and lists zero sugar and fat. That makes it a strong alternative to the Premier Protein Almondmilk shake for buyers who want a higher protein count and do not need a plant-based source. The tradeoff is fundamental: beef-derived protein will not suit vegetarians or anyone avoiding animal ingredients, and the listed flavor is Vanilla Cupcake. Its larger bottle may also be more drink than someone seeking a small snack wants.
Pros:- Explicitly listed as lactose-free and dairy-free.
- Provides 40g of hydrolyzed beef protein isolate per bottle.
- Lists zero sugar, zero fat, and zero cholesterol.
- Free of gluten, eggs, tree nuts, and soy according to the product details.
Cons:- Beef-derived protein is unsuitable for people avoiding animal ingredients.
- Only Vanilla Cupcake is specified in the supplied details.
- The 16.9 fl oz bottle is larger than the Oikos 12 fl oz bottles.
Best for: People seeking an explicitly lactose-free and dairy-free ready-to-drink shake with a high protein serving, including buyers avoiding soy, eggs, gluten, or tree nuts.
Not ideal for: Vegetarians, vegans, or anyone who avoids beef protein, as well as buyers who prefer a smaller bottle or more listed flavor choices.
- Protein per bottle:40g
- Protein source:Hydrolyzed beef protein isolate
- Flavor:Vanilla Cupcake
- Bottle size:16.9 fl oz
- Pack size:12 bottles
- Dietary features:Lactose-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free, tree nut-free, soy-free
- Sugar:0g
- Fat:0g
- Cholesterol:0mg
Our verdict“Choose MuscleMeds if you need an explicitly lactose-free, dairy-free shake and are comfortable with beef protein and a larger bottle.”
Premier Protein Non-Dairy Almondmilk Protein Shake, 20g, Vanilla, 12 Pack
For buyers who want a non-dairy almondmilk base rather than beef protein, this Premier Protein shake offers a distinct route through the roundup: 20g of plant-based protein in an 11.5 fl oz vanilla bottle. That is 20g less protein than MuscleMeds Carnivor, but the almondmilk formula may better suit shoppers who avoid dairy and animal-derived protein. It also lists no artificial flavors, colors, or sweeteners. The tradeoff is 5g of sugar and 5g of fat per serving, compared with the Oikos shakes’ listed 1g of sugar, though Oikos does not have confirmed lactose-free status in the supplied information. The Premier listing describes the shake as non-dairy, but does not explicitly state lactose-free, so I’d check the package if that claim is necessary for a dietary or medical reason.
Pros:- Made with real almondmilk and described as non-dairy.
- Provides 20g of plant-based protein per serving.
- Lists no artificial flavors, colors, or sweeteners.
- 11.5 fl oz bottles are convenient for on-the-go use.
Cons:- Contains 5g of sugar and 5g of fat per serving.
- Provides less protein than the 30g Oikos shakes and 40g MuscleMeds option.
- The supplied details do not explicitly confirm lactose-free status.
Best for: Dairy-avoiding shoppers who prefer an almondmilk-based vanilla shake and want a moderate plant-based protein serving in a portable format.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking 30g or more protein per bottle, those limiting sugar or fat, or anyone who requires an explicit lactose-free claim.
- Flavor:Vanilla
- Protein per serving:20g
- Protein type:Plant-based
- Base:Almondmilk
- Bottle size:11.5 fl oz
- Pack size:12 bottles
- Calories:160 or less
- Sugar:5g
- Fat:5g
Our verdict“Pick this for an almondmilk-based, non-dairy vanilla shake with 20g of plant protein, but verify the label if you specifically require lactose-free certification.”

How We Picked
I compared each shake on the factors that matter most to someone searching for lactose-free protein: whether the provided product information explicitly states lactose-free, the protein source, protein per bottle, sugar positioning, and serving size. I gave the clearest lactose-free claim priority because buyers should not have to infer suitability from a dairy ingredient list. I also separated lactose-free dairy from non-dairy options and from products whose lactose status is not stated in the supplied information.
The order reflects how readily each product answers the specific query, then how useful its protein amount and format may be for different routines. Fairlife leads for its explicit lactose-free claim and 30g protein; Core Power Elite earns a distinct high-protein role, while the almondmilk options serve shoppers avoiding dairy ingredients. Products without an explicit lactose-free claim rank lower for this search, even when their protein amounts look competitive. I did not treat a high protein number as a universal advantage, and I flag meaningful tradeoffs such as unclear lactose status, dairy ingredients, or a narrower dietary fit.
| lactosefree protein shake | Flavor |
|---|---|
| Premier Protein Shake | Vanilla |
| Core Power Elite High Protein | Chocolate |
| Orgain 30g High Protein Shake | Chocolate Fudge |
| Premier Protein Shake | Chocolate |
| Nurri 30g Protein Ultra Filter | Vanilla |
| Premier Protein Shake | Chocolate |
| Pure Protein Vanilla Protein S | Vanilla |
| Premier Protein Non-Dairy Almo | Chocolate |
| Core Power Protein Shake | Vanilla |
| Fairlife Nutrition Protein Sha | — |
| Oikos Chocolate Protein Shake | Chocolate |
| Oikos Vanilla Protein Shake | Vanilla |
| MuscleMeds Carnivor Ready-to-D | Vanilla Cupcake |
| Premier Protein Non-Dairy Almo | Vanilla |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Lactosefree Protein Shakes
Choosing a shake starts with more than the number of grams on the front of the bottle. I would first verify that the product matches your reason for avoiding lactose, then compare protein source, serving size, and the role the shake needs to play in your day.
Check the lactose claim and your reason for avoiding dairy
A shake can contain milk protein and still be labeled lactose-free; that does not make it dairy-free. If you avoid lactose, look for an explicit lactose-free statement on the current package rather than assuming a milk-based shake will work. If you have a milk allergy or avoid all dairy, lactose-free milk protein is not a substitute for an ingredient-free dairy option. Plant-based products may better match that need, but confirm the full ingredient and allergen statements because formulations can change. When the product listing does not state lactose status, treat that as unconfirmed and check the manufacturer’s label before buying.
Match protein amount to the job
More protein per bottle is not automatically a better fit. A 42g shake may suit someone who wants a substantial ready-to-drink serving, while 20g or 26g can be enough when the shake is a smaller snack or part of a meal. Think about your total daily intake and the protein already in nearby meals before paying attention to the headline number. Larger servings can also feel less convenient to finish in one sitting. Compare the bottle size alongside the protein amount so you are judging the drink you will actually consume.
Choose a protein source you can and want to drink
Milk-derived proteins, almondmilk-based drinks, and beef protein isolate are different choices, not simple variations of one formula. The source may affect dietary compatibility, flavor expectations, and how the shake fits your routine. A non-dairy base can be useful for someone avoiding dairy ingredients, while a beef-derived option may appeal to buyers seeking an alternative protein source. Do not assume every source is equally suitable for your restrictions or preferences. Read the ingredient list, allergen information, and protein source before choosing a multipack.
Use sugar and flavor details to narrow the shortlist
Protein content can dominate a label, but sugar and flavor matter if you plan to drink a shake regularly. A product described as low sugar or with no added sugar may still have other sweeteners, so check the complete nutrition panel if sweetener type matters to you. Flavor names do not reveal how sweet or rich a shake will taste, and preferences vary. If you are unsure, try a smaller quantity when available before committing to a multi-bottle pack. For repeat use, choosing a flavor you can tolerate often matters more than a small difference in protein grams.
Consider bottle size and how you will use it
Serving sizes in this lineup range from around 11 ounces to 16.9 ounces, which can change how portable or filling a shake feels. A smaller bottle may fit a quick snack, while a larger one can be less convenient to carry or finish on the go. Decide whether you need a breakfast companion, a post-activity drink, or an emergency option for busy days; those uses can point to different serving sizes. Also check storage instructions and whether the format suits your routine. A convenient shake is only useful if you can store and drink it when needed.
Treat multipacks as a commitment to the label and flavor
A multipack can make sense for a flavor and formula you already know suit you, but it raises the cost of choosing poorly even without comparing prices. Before ordering, confirm the exact flavor, bottle count, protein source, and current lactose or allergen statement; similar product names can refer to different formulations. Do not assume that two versions from the same brand have identical ingredients or nutrition. If the label is ambiguous, ask the manufacturer rather than relying on a retailer title. This small check can prevent a whole case from being the wrong fit.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which shake in this roundup is the clearest choice if I need a lactose-free label?
Fairlife Nutrition Protein Shakes are the clearest match in the supplied product details because the listing explicitly identifies them as lactose-free and gives 30g of protein per bottle. The other milk-based products should not be assumed lactose-free based only on their protein source or brand. Check the current package, since product formulations and labels can change. If you avoid dairy altogether, Fairlife is not the same as a non-dairy shake.
Can I drink a lactose-free milk-protein shake if I have a milk allergy?
No: lactose-free describes the lactose sugar, not the absence of milk proteins. Milk-derived shakes can still contain milk allergens and may not be appropriate for someone with a milk allergy. Look for a product with no dairy ingredients and check its allergen statement, including any shared-facility warnings relevant to your needs. The Premier almondmilk options are non-dairy by their product name, but you should still verify the full current label.
Is the 42g Core Power Elite shake a better choice than a 30g option?
It is a better fit only if you specifically want more protein in one bottle and the larger serving works for you. Core Power Elite lists 42g, while options such as Fairlife and several other shakes list 30g. For a snack or a drink alongside a meal, the extra protein may not be useful. Compare your dietary needs, total intake, bottle size, and lactose labeling rather than choosing by the largest number alone.
Are the Premier almondmilk shakes interchangeable with lactose-free dairy shakes?
No. Premier’s almondmilk shakes are a non-dairy option, while a lactose-free dairy shake can still contain milk ingredients and allergens. That distinction matters if you avoid all dairy rather than lactose specifically. The almondmilk versions list 20g of protein, so they also differ from many 30g milk-based choices in this roundup. Check the current ingredient and allergen statements before deciding which category suits you.
What should I do when a product listing does not say whether the shake is lactose-free?
Do not infer lactose-free status from a product’s protein amount, flavor, or brand. Check the current package or the manufacturer’s product information for an explicit claim and review the ingredients if you have additional restrictions. A retailer listing may omit details or describe a different version than the one you receive. If you cannot confirm the claim, choose a product that states it clearly or contact the manufacturer before buying a multipack.
Conclusion
For the best overall fit for this search, I would start with Fairlife Nutrition Protein Shakes: the supplied listing explicitly says lactose-free and pairs that claim with 30g of protein. For the most protein in one bottle, Core Power Elite is the standout, though its 42g serving may be more than many buyers need. The best choice for buyers seeking a non-dairy base is Premier Protein’s almondmilk line; its 20g protein makes it a different tradeoff from the 30g dairy-based options. For beginners, I would choose a clearly labeled product in a familiar flavor and verify the package before committing to a multipack. For a specific need such as avoiding dairy ingredients, check allergen details rather than relying on the words lactose-free; if a product’s lactose status is not stated, I would not treat it as confirmed.














